So Many Exellent Writers

Contrary to popular belief, I didn’t become a librarian because I love books.  But even if that’s not the reason I became a librarian, I still love books.  And being a librarian sometimes means doing reader’s advisory.  Yes, I know I’m a tech services librarian so I don’t get really get to do reader’s advisory for my job.  So, like with my “A Few of My Favorite Things” posts, I’m going to use this blog to do some reader’s advisory.

So, are you wondering about some authors to try?  Want to get out of your usual genre?  I’m sure someone on this list will appeal.

If you’re into science fiction and fantasy, like I am, then I’ve got some good news for you: I know of lot of authors for you to try.  There’s the obvious ones like Ursula Le Guin and J.K. Rowling.  If you haven’t read at least one book by either of these authors, get on it.  N.K. Jemisin‘s The Fifth Season has been a recent smash hit.  I personally love Nnedi Okorafor and her post-apocalyptic Who Fears Death (I even included the book in “A Few of My Favorite Things”).  Then, there are the “newbies” of sci fi and fantasy.  Fonda Lee and Sabaa Tahir premiered Zeroboxer and An Ember in the Ashes in 2015; I’m still reeling from those two books.  Read these authors and be amazed.  There’s also the short storyist Shveta Thakrar; I particularly recommend “The Rainbow Flame.”

For my political and/or activist reader, I have a few suggestions. Hillary Clinton is a 2016 presidential candidate and a (rather) prolific author, with five published monographs.  It might be worth your while to read the works of one of the most powerful people in the world. Chimamanda Ngozi Adiche is probably most famous for being sampled in a BeyoncĂ© song.  But she’s a lot cooler still: she is a famous feminist an theories with five books ready for you to read. Malala Yousafzai is a women’s education advocate, famous for standing up to the Taliban.  Her book I Am Malala is a must-read.  (I really should be getting onto that…) Another must-read is Sheryl Sandberg‘s Lean In.  I doubt there is any book so talked about and referenced in the past 5 years, except maybe Fifty Shades of Grey or the ever-popular Bible.

Do I have any romance readers in my audience?  I don’t always read romance (like I *always* read fantasy), but when I do – I read it hard.  Pun intended.  My favorite romance author is Jeannie Lin.  I can’t get enough of her romance, but she’s also writing a new steampunk series which might entertain some of my sci fi and fantasy readers too.

Whew, that’s twelve excellent authors for you to look out for and try.  Stay tuned at this blog, and I might post more excellent writers.

Featured image by: Karin Porley von Bergen, CC BY-SA 2.0.

Leave a Reply

